The 5th Annual Rockstar Energy Drink Dallas Mayhem Festival

Posted: September 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

Venue – The GEXA Energy Pavilion, Dallas, Texas
Date – July 10, 2012
Ticket Cost – $35.00

Links: http://www.ticketmaster.com 
           http://rockstarmayhemfest.com/dates
           http://www.HolidayInn.com
           http://www.myspace.com/dirtfedd
           http://www.myspace.com/betrayingthemartyrs
           http://www.myspace.com/ithebreather
           http://www.metal-archives.com/bands/Upon_a_Burning_Body
           http://www.myspace.com/whitechapelmetal
           http://www.asilaydying.com
           http://www.askingalexandriaofficial.com
           http://www.anthrax.com
           http://www.tdwpband.com
           http://www.imotorhead.com
           http:www.slayer.net
           http://www.slipknot1.com
           http://www.metalsetlists.com
         

The Bands:
Dirtfedd
Betraying the Martyrs
I The Breather
Upon A Burning Body
Whitechapel
As I Lay Dying
Asking Alexandria
Anthrax
The Devil Wears Prada
Motorhead
Slayer
Slipknot

Initial Thoughts: Okay, I’m going to keep this real simple. As I wrote in my first post (see Introduction), the intent of this blog site is to write a journal about the concerts and music events that I attend. That means going to concerts and events that make up many different styles of music, some of which some people won’t like and others will whether it be metal, rock, jazz, classical, country, whatever. I find something in any genre to be interested in and like. So, with this concert being another in the many I have attended over 35 years, it was the first of its kind; an extreme metal concert, sometimes called Death Metal, Dark Metal, Thrash Metal, Doom Metal, Speed Metal, among others. It really is hard to believe, at least to me, that what with all of the concerts and events I have been to over these years that I hadn’t been to a Mayhem or concert of this genre of music before. But, anyway . .

Knowing that many people may be offended by what I write here because of their dislike for this music, I am still going to say what happened and that I wasn’t taken aback by any of it. I don’t really know what led me to come to this event. Well, that’s not entirely true . . . I mostly wanted to see a band that I have followed since the 1970’s, Motorhead, and I also wanted to see Slayer, and I wanted to see in person some things that I had only seen on television, on videos, and had read about; the people, styles and personalities, costumes, makeup, and goings-on that make a heavy, hard core, metal concert what it is. I was also encouraged to go so I could “get this out of my system . . . LOL.” Really? And, I kept getting asked by co-workers and others if I was going to go. I finally decided, Yes, I’m going to go and see this; I did and I am glad I did.

However, I didn’t know of half of these bands, no over half of them . . . I didn’t recognize anyone until later in the afternoon when Asking Alexandria (from North Yorkshire, England) took the stage. I had heard of Anthrax (from New York, New York [all rockers know Anthrax]), Motorhead (absolutely, any true rock lover knows of this band), Slayer (of course) and Slipknot (who I hadn’t heard of I saw the VH1 documentary series by Sam Dunn, Metal Evolution. Sam said about Slipknot that the first time he saw them live they were the only band who scared the hell out him. I understand why, even though while I was never scared, it is probably because I was far enough away from the main stage). But, also, as I readily admit, I don’t listen or follow too much of this genre of music. Mostly, it’s because I can’t understand two words in any song, and also, when every other sentence consists of a simple “F*** You, you F******, Get Those Hands In the Air you M*****F******,” well, I get that, I know what that means, I really do, and I understand the intent behind it; however, I’m a simple man who just likes rock music, so I personally don’t particularly need that, but you know what? It works to fire up a crowd, and it must always be remembered what the name of this event is: MAYHEM; and MAYHEM is what you paid for and MAYHEM is what you get. They make sure that you get your money’s worth.

What I do like in this music are the drummers and the bass players!!  Metal drummers have speed like you cannot believe. I have always appreciated drummers in all genres of music, but metal drummers really have it down, and when those bass drums are miked up, and they hit those speed reps along with the bass player hammering out those deep riffs, man, the whole earth shakes under your feet and the sound literally punches you in the chest. It is amazing to hear and feel. I love the force and the power behind this music even while not completely understanding it. Being there is to get educated. The best drummer of the lot to me was the drummer for Slayer, Dave Lombardo. Very fast, powerful, and it fed much of the strength that is Slayer’s music.

The Show: I got to the venue about 45 minutes early. The gates opened at 1:30, it was hotter than you know what and just standing around wasn’t what I wanted to do. Once they opened the gate I got in near the front so that wasn’t bad. The music started immediately. A group called Fallacy was head-banging and pretty quick a small mosh pit started. This would get a bit more interesting as the day wore on. The real fun started when Upon A Burning Body (from San Antonio, Texas) got going. It was then that the mosh pit got going full force; there were clothes flying in the air, and then came the beer cans and water bottles, all full, flying from the stage and being sent right back up on stage. There were some people sporting cuts and lumps. It reminded me of some scenes I had seen (and, yes, participated in) while in the military. It’s a lot like a controlled street or bar brawl, so just keep your head on a swivel is the best advice I can give as these projectiles can come from anywhere and from anyone. The mosh pits were full of people crash dancing, thrashing around, pushing and shoving, and then there is the stage diving. You find out real quick just how much your fellow concert goers think of you when you do that. You better hope they carry you and let you down easy. The whole thing was pretty crazy with a whole lot of energy. This went on with every band that played on the outside stage. As much as I hate to say it, it just reminded me of my age and how I had no business being in there. And I wasn’t, but the show was entertaining.

The Pavillion Show: Things settled down a lot after we all were let into the pavillion about 6 o’clock. After a 45 minute wait The Devil Wears Prada (from Dayton, Ohio) came on and got after it pretty good. They warmed up the crowd with some pounding jams, getting us prepped for the last three acts of the night. They did a good job.

Then the band I wanted to see, Motorhead (from England). Look, for any rocker this band is legendary (1975) and a must see. The band is best known for its bassist and vocalist, Lemmy Kilmister, but the whole band is awesome, Phil Campbell on guitar, and Mikkey Dee on drums, they are a solid, old fashioned, rock and roll band. They were playing metal before most of these other bands, and certainly before 95% of the crowd, were even a thought in their parents minds. But I digress. I was so excited to see this band and they didn’t disappoint even though I could tell that those of the younger sect just weren’t getting it. You have to appreciate what came before you before you can appreciate what is now. Motorhead did that old part of a show that used to be very commonplace . . . a drum solo. What? Yes, and a long one at that. It was awesome. I hadn’t seen one of these in a long time. Playing two of my favorite songs of theirs, A Dangerous Case, and the always popular Ace of Spades, I could have left then and there, but wanted to see what Slayer was all about.

Slayer (from Huntington Beach, California). Where to begin with this band, three decades old themselves, this band roared right from the start. With the fire lit Slayer logo, the inverted cross amplifiers that spit fire during heavy drum and bass riffs, this band tore it down. It is easy to see why they are so popular, the stage show alone is worth going to see this band. They are dark and heavy and they don’t fool around. With power drumming from Lombardo and the shredding guitars of Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman and the deep growling vocals of bassist Tom Araya, Slayer just tears your head off and spits it out. With the lights, fire and lyrics to match the stage presence this is one ominous metal band. If you can get past the names of some of the songs they put on one wild show that is worth your cost of admittance.

The night ended with Slipknot (from Des Moines, Iowa). The majority of the crowd was wearing Slayer and Slipknot shirts, it was easy to see who the most popular bands were. As I mentioned earlier I not heard of Slipknot before though they have been around for thirteen years. I can’t say I really get the music but some of the stage show is very entertaining and full of that carefree rebellion that make up rock and roll. From elevating drum kits on hydraulic or electric scissor lifts and that consist of kettle drums and beer kegs that are smashed with ball bats, to electronic keyboards and a powerful guitarists who has a very deliberate pace about him, this group preaches cultural mayhem at its best. The lyrics are very in your face stating the displeasure of the culture in all areas. It is easy to see why this group is very popular with young people of today, my generation had its own groups also. Corey Taylor, the lead singer ended the night by passing out on stage and had to be carried off. A fitting end as I thought I was going to need to be carried out as well because of my back killing me and my legs going numb.

Speaking of killing, this was one wild day, something not to be forgotten. Will I go to another Mayhem Festival? I would say yes, but would probably just save the best for last and go in when the bigger name bands start, especially with this thing being held in July. I met some really good people, almost all of them much younger than me, saw some interesting personalities, a lot of makeup, tatoos, hair colors, different shirts from rock bands. For $35 I got my money’s worth, that is for sure. It was heavy metal, it was loud, fast, frantic, dark, ominous at times, but overall a killer show.

The Set List: I pulled these lists from another site, see the link above. Also, they are only the lists from the four bands that played in the pavillion.
The Devil Wears Prada
Born To Lose
Outnumbered
Constance
Dead Throne
Assistance To The Regional Manager
Vengeance
Mammoth
Motorhead
Bomber
Damage Case
I Know How To Die
Over The Top
Stay Clean
The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
Going To Brazil
Drum Solo
Killed By Death
Ace Of Spades
Overkill
Slayer
Darkness of Christ
Disciple
War Ensemble
Die by the Sword
Hate Worldwide
Mandatory Suicide
Altar of Sacrifice
Jesus Saves
Seasons in the Abyss
Hell Awaits
Dead Skin Mask
Angel of Death
South of Heaven
Raining Blood
Slipknot
742617000027
(Sic)
Eyeless
Sulfur
Wait And Bleed
Before I Forget
Disasterpiece
Gently
Vermilion
The Heretic Anthem
Psychosocial
Duality
Spit It Out
People = S***
Surfacing

Clue to the Next Blog . . .

A concert which I passed on in 2011 because it would have meant going to Tampa Bay, Florida at a time when I didn’t quite have the pennies saved to make the trip. A three decade group from England that is one of the most legendary groups in rock and roll history. They put out an award winning documentary in 2009 of a famous world tour; they tour in their own commercial airliner named after the band’s mascot and in which the lead singer is the pilot. You have to know who this is after all of those clues. If not, well, counseling is available upon request. 

Now all of you music maniacs, keep practicing, keep playing, keep it loud, keep enjoying!

As the Saying Goes:
Lifetime Rocker; Please Speak Loudly!
More reviews and opinions to come for you Music Maniacs!

                   

Leave a comment